Pension Board – new employer representative required for East Sussex Pension Fund

A vacancy has arisen on the Board of East Sussex Pension Fund as Stephen Osborn, an employer representative, is standing down in January 2023. We are now searching for a replacement and would love to hear from you if there is anyone you think is suitable from within your organisation.

Find out more

The board members work with the Council in its role as an administering authority and with the pension fund's officers to ensure that your pension scheme is being run properly and that you as a member get the best service.

To comply with requirements imposed by regulations which are enforced by the Pensions Regulator, the members of the local pension board are required to maintain their knowledge and understanding of the LGPS and pensions in general, so receive appropriate training.

The board must have an equal number of employer representatives and scheme member representatives. In addition we have also appointed an independent expert to oversee the smooth running of the board.

Scheme member and employer representatives are appointed to the board for a term of 4 years.

The members of the board as at 01 April 2019 are as follows.

Scheme member representatives:

  • Lynda Walker - UNISON
  • Niki Polermo - GMB
  • Neil Simpson - Pensioners representative

Employer representatives:

  • Board vacancy - find out more
  • Cllr. Toby Illingworth - East Sussex District and Borough Councils
  • Cllr. Tom Druitt - Brighton & Hove City Council

Independent member:

  • Ray Martin - Independent Chair

Board members can seek reappointment at the end of their term.

Browse meetings and agendas, and view contact details for the members of the Pensions Board